Banana and Golden Syrup Loaf

This is a bit of a nostalgic recipe for me. I hadn’t made one for quite a while but someone in work made a banana bread and then I saw it was Banana Bread Day, I had some browning bananas so it had to be done.

But first, why the nostalgia? Well, it is a recipe from the very first cookbook that was mine. My Mam had a couple of cook books when I was a kid that I would look through but this one was specifically mine. I must have got it around 2000, it was published in 1999 and there is a sicker on it saying it won some award in 2000.

And what is this cookbook you ask? It is Gary Rhodes New British Classics. He had a TV program out at the time and he made these awesome looking Yorkshire puddings and something that I don’t even particularly like but looked amazing when he did it, an egg custard tart. I think my Mam might have actually bought it for me for a Birthday or Christmas I would have only been about 16 at the time. I’ve still never made those Yorkshire puddings or custard tart even though every time I flick through it for ideas I always say to myself I will.

This Banana Bread recipe must be the thing that I have baked the most times. It’s so easy to do and is a great way to use up any old bananas you have laying around. It helps that it tastes good and all you really need to make it is a pair of scales, a bowl, a spoon (you could use your hands) and a loaf tin. I’m sure it would still come out fine if you banged it in any type of tin though.

I have a very strong memory of being at home, seeing a bunch of bananas that weren’t getting eaten. Looking in the cupboards for the other ingredients. Clearing a space on the counter that literally just fitted the cookbook in. Getting the scales out and putting them on top of the cookbook then mixing all the ingredients in a bowl on top of the other page. Check out the picture below and you can see that over the years I’ve spilt batter all over this page as I have done the above more than once.  There is another recipe on the page and I’ve either never made it or if I have it was just the once.

Enough of that, let’s get down to business…

Banana and Golden Syrup Loaf!!!

  • 225g Self-raising Flour.
  • 100g Butter, softened.
  • 4 ripe and I mean ripe Bananas, mashed.
  • 50g Soft Dark Brown Sugar.
  • 4tbsp Golden Syrup.
  • 4 Eggs.

This fills a 2lb greased and lined loaf tin and you will need the oven preheated to 180°C.

Now for the hard bit. Bang all the ingredients in a bowl, mix up well, bosh the mix into the loaf and whack this in the oven for about 50-55 minutes until a skewer comes out clean. Take out of the oven, let it cool in the tin for 10 mins and turn out to cool on a wire rack.

Not hard was it? Even a little kid could do it and they should. If you have got kids then get them to make this. If not, then just make it yourself. It’s a bit different compared to cupcakes or something with chocolate. You can let them mash the bananas in their hands and it is only one bowl you have to wash up.

My secret tip, don’t eat it for at least a day. The banana flavours come out so much more after it has matured for a day or two than they do when it first cools down. I’m not sure how long it keeps for but I have usually eaten the full thing on my own after two or three days.

It’s a good recipe to add stuff to, 50g of chopped nuts is recommend in the book and I pretty much always do this. Pecans or walnuts work very well but this last time I just used a bag of mixed nuts that had Brazils, Almonds, Cashews and Hazelnuts as well as Walnuts. Besides nuts I’ve put chopped up chocolate in before. Again about 50g will be enough.

Thinking about it you could even try adding some other fruit as well, Cranberries perhaps.

I might do this next time, or better still those chocolate coated cranberries you can get, hold on do I have any bananas left…

Banana_Loaf

About HystrixCristata

If you see the Tramp, FeeD the TramP View all posts by HystrixCristata

Talk to me!!!

