The French Manchester

A few weeks ago Mrs TramP and I had a flying visit through Manchester and as part of that we went to The French by Simon Rogan. When I lived in Manchester I always thought the city centre was a bit lacking in the way of top quality dining. For a city like Manchester it should have at least one Michelin Star but right now it doesn’t. Hopefully Simon Rogan can change that.

Like many, I first heard of Simon Rogan through Great British Menu. Everything he made looked amazing, they could have scrapped the competition and just let him cook the full thing. All of his dishes made it into the top three. Since then I’ve really wanted to go to his restaurant L’Enclume in Cartmel but it’s a bit out of the way. To go there I would really need to make a holiday out of it, I’m sure one day I will.

So imagine how happy I was to read Bacon on the Beech blog about Simon Rogan at The French in Manchester. As soon as I read that blog I knew I had to go. If I were you I would take a read of that blog post, there isn’t much more I can say that hasn’t already been said in that one.

The food was great, staff super attentive, nice atmosphere, smart casual dress code.  As for the dress code, I either wear a suit or dress like a TramP, I find smart casual very difficult. But I shouldn’t have worried about it. There must have been at least 5 blokes wearing jeans and a shirt. One guy even had white pants, a green t-shirt, red sued moccasins with no socks on. I was worried I was going to find him stabbed after he left and stepped out into the middle of Manchester being dressed like that.

But enough about that, it’s all about the food. You have a choice between 6 or 10 courses. Come on, I was always going to pick the 10. I don’t know if they did it because me and Mrs TramP both have dreads or if it was an accident but they initially brought us just the vegetarian menu to look at.  Looked nice but I’ll take the meat menu thanks. Before the 10 courses even started they brought some little extras out and another little treat at the end. I set out to take a picture of every course but failed miserably. My favourite dish of Ox in coal oil, pumpkin seed, kohirabi and sunflower shoots looked so good I had eaten it before even thinking about taking a picture. That dish was amazing, raw meat that tasted like it had been on a BBQ. If you want to see it head over to Bacon on the Beech.

I think I have said enough, if you are in Manchester and want to experience fine dining get yourself down to The French before everyone finds out and you can’t get a table.

20130620_201318

20130620_201351

20130620_202328

20130620_203524

20130620_204822

20130620_204829

20130620_212557

20130620_214447

20130620_220430

20130620_222410

p20130716-205733-1

About HystrixCristata

If you see the Tramp, FeeD the TramP View all posts by HystrixCristata

Talk to me!!!

