Sourdough Beer Bread

Well sourdough bread seems the trendy thing to make at the moment. Everyone seems to be baking it. I’ve made a few, probably not as many as I would like but I’ve not been eating carbs since the beginning of the year. I mainly bake cakes, bread has never really been up there on things to make as I don’t eat it quick enough before it goes stale. I’m not sure taking a loaf into work to share would work very well.

Mrs TramP bought me the Hobbs House Bread Making Kit a while ago so this recipe is using their 57 year old sourdough starter that comes with the kit. I’m not using their recipe or their method of baking though.

So what could be more trendy than combining sourdough and beer?

Sourdough Malt Beer Bread!!!

  • 240 ml Sourdough Culture
  • 30g Melted Butter
  • 1 tsp Salt
  • 1 tbl Sugar
  • 240ml Malt Beer
  • 200g Rye Flour
  • 245g Plain Flour

The hardest part of this recipe was finding a malty beer in my boxes of very hop centric beers. The closest thing I had was a Robinsons Old Tom so that’s what I used.

So lets do this…mix the butter, salt, sugar and beer together until the sugar and salt have dissolved. Bang in the sourdough culture, the rye flour and about half the plain flour and mix up. Whack the dough out onto a floured board and knead in the rest of the plain flour. This is where I fail a bit at bread making. I never know how long to knead for and these sourdough breads seem to be well more sticky than anything you see on things like Great British Bake Off. It should be smooth and satiny, I gave up after  a while when I was knackered and my wrist started hurting.

That’s it for about 12 hours, put the dough back in your mixing bowl, cover with cling film or a shower cap a la Baker Brothers. To be fair the shower cap thing works pretty well. It should double in size, if you haven’t worked it out you might want to do the first bit before you go to bed to have ready to bake in the morning. After the 12 hours, tease the dough out and leave for half an hour, if it flattens a lot then knead in some more flour. Shape the loaf however you want and then leave for another 2-4 hours until it doubles in size again.

Now I’v not worked out which method works better, either the one above or this one. After kneading leave for half an hour, knock back, shape, cover and leave for the 12 hours. I’ve not been mental enough to make two loaves at the same time when I can’t manage to get through one.

Here’s the crazy bit, place the loaf on a baking sheet or stone and bang in a cold oven then turn to 190°C and bake for 70 minutes. A cold oven, are you mental? You can preheat the oven to 230°C and bake for 40 minutes, but I have tried the from cold method and the loaf sprang up much better than when I preheated the oven.

That’s it, take out, slice, cover in butter, dip in soup, sit back and enjoy being on the sourdough bandwagon.

sourdough

About HystrixCristata

If you see the Tramp, FeeD the TramP View all posts by HystrixCristata

Talk to me!!!

